Saturday, April 29, 2017

Star Wars Armada

I had this space station and death star hanging around my miniature collection for years. Anyone know who made them?

Tuesday, April 18, 2017

Going Star Wars X-Wing

So I have been a little Star Wars crazy this past month.

I have gotten into Star Wars Destiny, Star Wars Armada, Star Wars Imperial Assault and also Star Wars X-Wing.

OK to be honest I haven't played Imperial Assault or Armada, but I have a huge fleet of Armada arriving on Wednesday.  I found a deal I couldn't pass up.  My B-Day is next month and I already requested Imperial Assault as a potential gift.

As a gamer, I am always trading/selling stuff I used to be into and now am not.

A good example is Warmachine.  When it was first released I absolutely loved the game.  A few jacks and a single figure controlling them was a ton of fun.  Then things started to get expensive.  Privateer press started adding in all sorts of infantry and then larger and larger Jacks.  At some point, I just gave up.

I see people play all the time, but it just hasn't appealed to me.

Then came my Star Wars obsession.  I saw Star Wars when it was first released back in the 70's and have always been a fan.  Sometimes more, sometimes less.

For the past few months I have been playing Star Wars Destiny and really love the game.  Of course to get the good cards can be quite expensive.  Still for now at least I don't mind the cost.  I figure if I really get bored I can always sell the cards/dice on ebay and recoup some of my money.

After playing Destiny of course I have to get into some of the other Fantasy Flight offerings, thus X-Wing, Armada, and Imperial Assault.

Below are just some of my Warmachine figures I am hoping to trade for some X-Wing.  I am posting them up on Bartertown and see if I get any bites.




Thursday, February 16, 2017

Impact Miniatures Heartbreaker Kickstarter




Impact Miniatures is bringing back some Fun 28mm Fantasy Goblin, Dwarf, and Skeletons sculpted by Tim Prow and Kev Adams.

Kick Starter Heartbreaker (Kev Adams & Tim Prow)

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Ral Partha 15mm Fantasy 1979

So I was digging through my miniatures and came across some I picked up in 1979. This range was present in the 1980 and 1982 catalogs. Dennis Mize was credited as the sculptor.

They came from Ral Partha's Armies Of Myth and Legend.






Wednesday, December 7, 2016

Rogue Trader Games Workshop Space marines

Been painting up my Rogue Trader Space marines.  Love the old school look.  They have been based on the new 32mm GW bases.

I decided to use various metallics for the paint scheme.  To me this brings out the character of the miniatures.




Sunday, October 2, 2016

Here is another fantastic painting tutorial.

Tuesday, September 27, 2016

Nice Painting Technique Video

Just came across a painting video that GW put out. I thought was rather nice. It walks you through painting a Deathwatch Space Marine using GW brushes and paints. I have been really impressed with the GW brushes and paints these days.

Monday, September 12, 2016

Warhammer DiskWars

I saw that Fantasy Flight Games will no longer be producing GW games.
https://www.fantasyflightgames.com/en/news/2016/9/9/a-new-path-forward/
Beginning February 28th, 2017, Fantasy Flight Games will no longer offer for sale any games in conjunction with Games Workshop, including Talisman and all games taking place in the Warhammer Fantasy and Warhammer 40,000 universes.
All upcoming products for Games Workshop-licensed games have already been announced and will be released in upcoming months. All Games Workshop-licensed product lines will leave the Fantasy Flight Games catalog on February 28th, 2017.
As stated above, after February 28th, 2017, product lines dealing with Games Workshop properties will end and will no longer be offered for sale by Fantasy Flight Games.
All upcoming products for these product lines have already been announced—there will be no new announcements of additional Games Workshop-licensed products. All announced, currently unreleased products will be released before the conclusion of the business relationship between Fantasy Flight Games and Games Workshop.
The full list of product lines leaving the Fantasy Flight Games catalog is:
• Black Crusade
• Blood Bowl: Team Manager
• Chaos in the Old World
• Chaos Marauders
• Dark Heresy
• Dark Heresy Second Edition
• Deathwatch
• Forbidden Stars
• Fury of Dracula
• Only War
• Relic
• Rogue Trader
• Space Hulk: Death Angel
• Talisman
• Warhammer: Diskwars
• Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay
• Warhammer: Invasion The Card Game
• Warhammer Quest: The Adventure Card Game
• Warhammer 40,000: Conquest
All Fantasy Flight Supply products showing imagery licensed to Games Workshop.

One of the games I always wanted to try out was diskwars, so I might end up getting it.

Here is a great overview video on the game.


Sunday, July 31, 2016

Games Workshop Lost Patrol Review

Picked up my first GW Game in quite some time called Lost Patrol.  For those that don't know, GW released Lost Patrol back in 2000 and 16 years later they release an updated version.


Lost Patrol Year 2000



Lost Patrol 2016

The game retails for $60 + tax. You can find it on ebay for a little less, but not much less.

The game comes with
5 Space Marine Scouts
12 Genestealers
6 Infestations
30 Map Tiles
3 dice and rules

Lost Patrol pits 5 Space Marine Scouts against a planet full of Genestealers.  The subtitle "Death In The Jungle" is essentially what happens to the Scouts 99 out of 100 times.



There is a 8 page rule book (6 pages actually have rules) and 30 map tiles.  The rules totally favor the Genestealers.



The Genestealers and Scouts have their own How-To directions for putting them together.



The Genestealers are grey.  There are enough bits to make 12 Genestealers, 6 Infestations with a bunch of arms and heads left over.


The Space Marine Scouts come in a burt red/orange color.  There are bits to make 5 scouts with a few extra weapons left over.



Playing The Game

Lost Patrol is played via a turn sequence.
  1. Scout Players Actions
  2. Genestealer Player Removes old Jungle Tiles that can't be seen
  3. Genestealer Player Places new Jungle Tiles
  4. Genestealer Player Takes Actions
  5. Genestealer Launches Assaults

Scout Player Actions

The scouts can perform 2 types of actions.  Move or Fire.  They need a 6 to kill a Genestealer, so most of their shots are going to be misses.  They don't have the ability to boost any of their shots, so their weapons are pretty useless against the Genestealers unless they roll a lot of 6s.

Tiles

The Genestealer player adds and removes tiles based on where the Scouts are located.  If a Scout can't see a particular part on the map it gets removed from play.  This can be good news for a Scout, if that part of the map contains Genestealers.  If that part of the map contains Scouts, they are lost in the jungle and die.

Genestealer Player Actions

The Genestealer player can perform 3 actions.  Place Genestealers, Infest and Move.  They can perform any of the 3 actions in any order they wish.

Assault

Assault works based on how many Genestealers are in a hex where the Space Marine player needs to beat the Assault value.

1 Genestealer = Assault 2 2 Genestealers = Assault 4 3 Genestealers = Assault 6 (Maximum Assault value) Bonuses +1 Sergeant gets a +1 bonus on Assaults +1 The Heavy HMG gives a +1 bonus on Assaults if he is supporting from a different hex. -1 If there is only one scout in a hex that is being assaulted Assault Outcomes
  • Genestealer wins - Scout is removed, others are pushed back
  • Scout wins - Genestealer is removed
  • Tie - Scouts are pushed back
I have yet to win a game playing the Scouts and my guess is I would have to be amazing lucky to win.

I found the rules easy, but IMO GW should have added additional rules to make it easier for the Scouts to win.  It doesn't matter what the scouts are equip with besides the heavy bolter.  Having other weapon options that add bonuses could improve game play.

Here are some recommendations

Heavy Bolter - Hits on 5s instead of 6s and gets 3 dice.
Shotgun - 2 dice against adjacent hexes at 5s, 1 dice at 2 hexes away at 6s
Bolter - 2 dice at 6s
Bolter Pistol and Sword - 1 dice at 6s, +1 Assault

Overall the game is fun, although for a scout player it is rather frustrating because you know you will almost always lose.  I really like the tiles.  I decided to sell off the Space Marine Scouts, because I already have painted metal ones.  The Genestealers are Genestealers and are pretty cool.

Saturday, July 23, 2016

Kroot Big Ape

While looking for alternative Kroot figures, I came across a rather cool figure that people called the Kroot Big Ape.  I tried contacting the person who was selling these on Ebay under the name irina_est, but I haven't heard back from them.  It doesn't look like they have been active in a while.

The figure is about twice the size of a normal GW Krootox.